Libya threatened with new Schengen visa restrictions

Alwasat - Cairo Fri 02 Apr 2021, 07:29 PM
alwasat radio

The European Commission has drawn up a list of 13 countries, including Libya, that are threatened with Schengen visa restrictions, for allegedly failing to cooperate in repatriating illegal migrants whose asylum applications have been rejected.

According to a document prepared by the European Commission after an assessment of 39 countries, 13 of them were included in the list of countries that did not cooperate in the return of rejected refugees from the Schengen area.

The 13 countries on the list that received a "poor" rating, including 11 African countries, are Senegal, Libya, Somalia, Mali, Gambia, Cameroon, the Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Guinea-Bissau, and the other two in the Middle East are Iraq and Iran.

In 2018, the EU developed stricter requirements for processing visa applications when states do not adequately cooperate in the readmission of irregular migrants, including passengers who entered the union legally but overstayed their period of validity.

As a result, from the summer of 2021, the EU will implement a series of restrictions on countries appearing on this list, if migration cooperation does not develop by that time.

Several restrictions are being considered against these countries that have not cooperated adequately, including extending the maximum  processing period beyond 15 days for visa applications, increasing visa fees above 80 euros, and eliminating the exemption for diplomats from paying visa fees.

Related Topics